JORGE BOLET His Earliest Recordings


Boston Records LP B301 Recorded 1952
1 SAINT-SAËNS: Etude en form de valse Op 52 No 6 (5:43)
2 MOSZKOWSKI: En Automne Op 36 No 4 (2:23)
3 MENDELSSOHN: Hunting Song (Song Without Words Op 19 No 3) (2.20)
4 MENDELSSOHN: Rondo Capriccioso Op 14 (7:02)
5 LISZT: Funérailles (Harmonies poétiques et religieuses No 7) (11:27)
6 BEETHOVEN : Andante Favori in F WoO 57 (9:13)
Boston Records LP B300 Recorded 1952
7 LECUONA: …y la Negra Bailaba (2:14)
8 LECUONA: Danza de los Ñañigos (2:20)
9 GRANADOS:: Andaluza (Playera) (4:30) 
10 DE FALLA: Andaluza (3:53) 
11 DE FALLA: Cubana (4:05)
12 ALBENIZ: Prelude (5:19) 
13 ALBENIZ: Malaguena (3:22) 
14 ALBENIZ: Cordoba (5:13)

COMPACT DISC 2 (68.12)
Remington LP 199-182 Recorded 1953
1-4 PROKOFIEV: Piano Concerto No 2 in G minor Op 16
i) Andantino/Allegretto (10:41); ii) Scherzo: Vivace (2:21); iii) Intermezzo: Allegro assai (5:46)
iv) Finale: Allegro Tempestoso (10:59) (TT 29:59)
with Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, conductor Thor Johnson
Remington LP 199-191 Recorded 1953
5 CHOPIN: Scherzo No 1 in B minor Op 20 (9:21)
6 CHOPIN: Scherzo No 2 in B flat minor Op 31 (10:13)
7 CHOPIN: Scherzo No 3 in C sharp minor Op39 (7:20)
8 CHOPIN: Scherzo No 4 in E major Op 54 (10:53)

From the mid 1970's until his death, Cuban born Jorge Bolet emerged as one of the world's truly great pianists and one of the last representatives, along with the likes of Cherkassky, Horowitz and Earl Wild, of the great Romantic tradition of pianism. His pedigree was marvellous - a student of Godowsky-disciple David Saperton at the Curtis Institute, there he was also able to play for Godowsky himself and Josef Hofmann. He won the Naumburg competition in 1937 and looked set for a great career, but the war interrupted the flow of things and he struggled through the 1950s & 60s, mainly playing in the USA and not quite making the international 'big-time'. His big break came with an RCA contract and the release on LP of a stunning live Carnegie Hall concert in 1974. Shortly after, he was signed to Decca and went on to make many award winning discs. But what of the early years? There is not much, but here, for the first time on CD, we have the four LPs he made in the 1950s. His very first disc was of Latin-American repertoire that he was never to record again. Here also is the first ever recording of Prokofiev's Second Piano Concerto in a performance that is still up there with the best.

These almost unknown discs are sure to fascinate, and fill an important gap in the mystery of Bolet's early career.

APR6009 Available on Compact Disc, as a Digital Download and to Stream