MISCHA LEVITZKI The complete HMV recordings



COMPACT DISC 1 (78.58)
1-3. CHOPIN Préludes Op 28 Nos 1, 7 & 23
4. Waltz in G flat major Op 70 No 1
5. Waltz in A flat major Op 64 No 3
6. Ballade No 3 in A flat major Op 47
7. Nocturne in C minor Op 48 No 1
8. Nocturne in F sharp major Op 15 No 2
9. Scherzo No 3 in C sharp minor Op 39
10. Polonaise in A flat major Op 53
11. D SCARLATTI Sonata in A major Kk113
12. GLUCK/BRAHMS Gavotte from Iphigénie en Aulide
13. BEETHOVEN/D’ALBERT Ecossaises WoO 83
14. SCHUBERT/TAUSIG Marche militaire D733/1
15. RUBINSTEIN Étude in C major Op 23 No 2 ‘Staccato Étude’
16. MENDELSSOHN Rondo capriccioso Op 14
17-20. SCHUMANN Piano Sonata No 2 in G minor Op 22

COMPACT DISC 2 (74.45)
1-4. LISZT Piano Concerto No 1 in E flat major S124
5. J S BACH/LISZT Prelude & Fugue in A minor, S462/1
6. LISZT Étude de concert in D flat major ‘Un sospiro’ S144/3
7 & 8. PAGANINI/LISZT La campanella: Grandes Études de Paganini, S141/3 (two versions)
9. LISZT Hungarian Rhapsody No 6 in D flat major S244/6
10. LISZT Hungarian Rhapsody No 12 in C sharp minor S244/12
11. LISZT Hungarian Rhapsody No 13 in A minor S244/13
12. MOSZKOWSKI La Jongleuse Op 52 No 4
13. RACHMANINOV Prelude in G minor Op 23 No 5
14. LEVITZKI Valse in A major ‘Valse amour’ Op 2

MISCHA LEVITZKI (1898–1942) was born near Kiev to naturalized American parents who had returned to their homeland. He was a pupil of Michałowski, Stojowski and Dohnányi and quickly established himself as a major rising star in the 1920s. Indeed, had it not been for his early death he would surely have been seen as one of the major pianists of the century. The HMV recordings presented here (made between 1927 and 1933) form the most important part of his meagre recorded legacy.
This is the only transfer of Levitzki’s recordings currently available as a physical CD.

APR6043 Available on Compact Disc, as a Digital Download and to Stream