NICOLAS MEDTNER The complete solo recordings Vol.1

Medtner plays his music with the same commanding authority that Rachmaninov imparted to his.
Volume 1
The unpublished 1930-31 Columbia recordings
MEDTNER Märchen (Skazka/Fairy Tales) in e, Op.14/2; in b, Op.20/2; in A, Op.51/3 (3 versions); in f sharp, Op.51/5; in b flat, Op.20/1; in f, Op.26/3; in E flat, Op.26/2; in a, Op.51/2, in c, Op.8/1. Novelle in G, Op.17/1; Canzona matinata, Op.39/4; Danza festiva, Op.38/3; Danza jubilosa, Op.40/4; Hymn in praise of toil, Op.49/1
BEETHOVEN Appassionata Sonata (HMV 1946)

APR's "The complete solo piano recordings of Nicolas Medtner, Volume 1" must count as one of the most important records of the year, if not the decade, not simply as a document of historical significance but also for its sheer musical worth, and the indispensable interpretative insight it offers into the composer's music. IPQ (UK)

APR5546 Available as a Digital Download or to Stream only